After seven years of promotion and publicity, the New 7 Wonders of the World were announced on July 7th, 2007 (07 07 07) in Lisbon, Portugal. And they are:

Chichén Itzá, Mexico
– Christ Redeemer, Brazil
– The Roman Colosseum, Italy
– The Great Wall, China
– Machu Picchu, Peru
– Petra, Jordan
– The Taj Mahal, India

The 21 sites that competed in this seven year long competition are (in alphabetical order):  Acropolis (Greece), Alhambra  (Granada,Spain), Angkor (Cambodia), Chichén Itzá (Yucatán, Mexico), Christ Redeemer (Brazil), Colosseum (Rome, Italy), Easter Island Statues (Easter Island, Chile), Eiffel Tower (Paris, France), Great Wall (China), Hagia Sophia (Istanbul, Turkey), Kiyomizu Temple (Kyoto, Japan), Kremlin and Red Square (Moscow, Russia), Machu Picchu (Peru), Neuschwanstein Castle (Germany), Petra (Jordan), Giza Temples (Egypt), Statue of Liberty (New York City, USA), Stonehenge (Amesbury, United Kingdom), Sydney Opera House (Sydney, Australia), Taj Mahal (India) and Timbuktu (Mali.) (Note: After careful consideration, the New7Wonders Foundation designated the Pyramids of Giza – the only remaining of the 7 Ancient Wonders of the World – as an Honorary New7Wonders Candidate. Therefore, people could not vote for the Pyramids of Giza as part of the New7Wonders campaign.)

A little history:

In September 1999, Swiss businessman Bernard Weber launched a project to name seven new wonders of the world, since the original ones were all gone except for the Pyramids at Giza in Egypt. By November 24, 2005, 177 monuments were up for consideration. The requirements to be included in the new list were: the wonders had to be man-made, completed before 2000, and in a reasonable state of preservation. On January 1, 2006, the list was narrowed down to 21 sites, and later reduced to 20 after Egypt’s Pyramids at Giza were given honorary status.

Congratulations to the winners! And thanks to all of you who voted!


Esta entrada también está disponible en: ES